Running Secrets

Ok, team, something happened yesterday that is inspiring me to breathe life back into Ninjaneeringmomjeans.  My sweet husband needs some inspiration to get into shape, so he decides to sign up for a 5K this summer.  He calls me and says, “Hey, do you want me to sign you up for the Missoula Marathon?”

Me, “Ah, no.”

Sweet husband, “Oh, no, just the 5K.”

“Ok, that would be fun,” I say because I’ve been running and playing soccer, so it’s not going to be such a big stretch to do a 5K this summer.

THEN he says, “So we don’t have to run the race together, right?  We can do it competetively.”

Wait…what?  He thinks he can beat me?  As if it’s a foregone conclusion?  Ok, now looking at it practically, his legs are about a foot longer than my legs so each of his strides is roughly 1-1/2 of my strides because I have the build of a welsh corgi.

Sweet Runner's Body

Sweet Runner’s Body

However, now I have the power of a fiercely competitive nature and a blog my sweet husband doesn’t read, so let’s keep this between us.  I need all the help I can get.  How do I increase my speed?  Is there an app for this?  What are some good songs for my running playlist?  I think I have twelve weeks to go from corgi to gazelle!

Twelve Weeks from NOW!

Twelve Weeks from NOW!

5 thoughts on “Running Secrets

  1. Oddly enough, I enjoy listening to jam bands while running. Perhaps listening to songs about smoking weed will also motivate you…after all, you are in Missoula. 🙂

    Like

    • That’s a great idea. I tend to put songs on my playlist where I start out a little too hot and burn out fast. A long doo-ta-loot guitar solo might just smooth that out. And I’m pretty sure anything surrouding smoking the grass is motivational…wait, do we have that backwards?

      Like

  2. My dear Gazelle, I laughed out loud when I read your blog, and find I must share it with friends and family. You are one of the most determined people I know, so if you are going to run this 5K competitively with Ben, we will come to watch the kids and cheer wildly for you (both)! Date: Fri, 10 Apr 2015 17:17:06 +0000 To: kenneth6120@msn.com

    Like

    • Well, maybe it does take an inadvertent shot across to the bow to motivate me to be a runner. I have gone on three clandestine runs since the “incident” last week. But I do find it difficult to not talk about it with Ben. You’re so darn proud of yourself for actually running the best part is telling people about it. Just ask your friends that do crossfit 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment