Don’t Judge a Mom Until You’ve Walked a Mile In Her Yoga Pants

Now that I’m a “runner” (let’s take that with a pillar of salt) and a stay at home mom, I find that yoga pants/running tights/leggings are an essential part of my wardrobe.  Speaking of ninjaneermomjeans, these little beauties fit the bill for sure.  I can’t stop singing their praises.  You can wear them as running tights with your tennie runners to channel your inner athlete.  Throw boots over them for a lunch with the other moms.  Yoga pants go nicely under a dress when it’s cool out. They double as long underwear under your ski pants.  I guess you can probably do yoga in them.  The possibilities are endless.  When you’re shopping and the irritatingly tiny dressing room attendant asks what size pants you need, the answer: “Leggings.”   Lycra spandex really is your friend.  Yoga pants do tend to highlight your every insecurity, but fortunately black is slimming and shirts come in all lengths.

Well, here’s where I have to eat a little crow.  There is a mom in my old neighborhood that ALWAYS wears yoga pants.  She has more kids than I have and has been a mom longer too.  Well, because of my judgy-ness, her proclivity for tight black pants, and because I couldn’t remember her name, I started calling her “Buttpants.”  What I didn’t realize when I gave her that moniker was that these buttpants are the new (hot)momjeans:

Mom Jeans Comparison

These pants have everything a busy mom needs: Comfortable elasticized waist (check); fit great even if you ate all the carbs in the house today (check); versatility to go from a soccer game to a night on the town (check); can be purchased in a two-pack at Costco (check); come in capri and ankle lengths (check and check). Alright, but here’s the hook, according to our friends at Athleta, there are some things you can do in the lycra spandex version that you can’t do in the denim version:

Athleta Mom Jeans

Whoa.  So, I’m sorry for the judgy-ness, Buttpants.  You were right to sport these ninjaneer wonder pants all along.  And I’m pretty certain that in the third month of my stay at home mom status, I am the “Buttpants” of my new neighborhood.  Now that I have that apology issued, I can focus on centering my chi and getting my foot stretched over my head….

If you’re having a busy family day, what are your go-to mom jeans or dad jeans?

4 thoughts on “Don’t Judge a Mom Until You’ve Walked a Mile In Her Yoga Pants

  1. Brilliant post! My favorite point being that these magical pants can be purchased in a 2-pack at Cost-Co. Reason enough to purchase just about anything, really.

    Now, pull on those Ugg boots and start questioning your neighbors about where they go during the day.

    Like

    • Thanks, cp! That Costco reasoning is why I have three pounds of edemame in my freezer! Because if a few before dinner at Dave’s Sushi were good, a lifetime supply will surely be better.

      Alright, Addison wasn’t at the bus stop this morning. I need to get to the bottom of this!

      Like

  2. I felt quite nervous and edgy the first time I wore my spandex wonder tights with a long tailed shirt to weigh in at a weight reduction meeting. Perhaps we could call them “granma pants” when they appear in my closet!

    Like

  3. Don’t be nervous. Treat sporting those ninja pants like civil disobedience since Montana representatives are trying to outlaw them. Put your fist in the air. Power to the Yoga Pants!

    Like

Leave a comment